Division of Postal Services

​​​The Division of Postal Services provides postal and messenger services to agencies in state government and advises agencies concerning the rules and regulations of the U.S. Postal Service.  Postal and messenger services includes daily pickups and deliveries for the Commonwealth of Kentucky's official mail (letters, packages, messenger mail), to various cabinets and agencies. Pickup and delivery services are provided at least twice daily to all locations, and special runs are available upon request.

Mailroom Hours

Hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. except for official state holidays. Staff is often available prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 4:30 p.m., if a special need arises.  Please note that the Division of Postal Services is dependent upon the U.S. Postal Service for multiple services and must operate according to those hours (see Related Information).

Agency Service Charges

The Division of Postal Services is an internal service bureau agency that is reliant on a usage-based, agency charge back plan to provide funds for maintaining services and operations.  The chart below contains information for each of Postal Services rate offerings*.

*Annual Mail Stop charges are recouped through four quarterly billings. 

Postal Service Rate

​2022-2024 Biennium (Fiscal Year 2024)
​2024-2026 Biennium (Fiscal Year 2025 & 2026)
​Actual Postage
​Actual USPS postage​ costs billed m​onthly
​Actual USPS postage costs billed monthly
​Meter Usage
​$0.40 for each parcel per month
​Parcel Handling
​$0.10 for each parcel per month
​$0.12 for each parcel per month
​Mailsto​p Services
​$2,500 per mailstop annually
​$2,700 per mailstop annually

2024-2026_Postal Services Rates Memo.pdf

Delivery to the United States Postal Service

All outgoing mail received by the Division of Postal Services is delivered to the Frankfort Post Office the same day as it is metered. Exceptions to this policy may occur due to volume, staffing or postal equipment breakdowns.​

Please contact the following for assistance

Billing/Usage Questions: Dudley Roberts; dudley.roberts@ky.gov; (502) 782-9432
General USPS Questions: Mike Fitzgerald; miked.fitzgerald@ky.gov; (502) 782-9436
Messenger Mail Questions: Brian Howard; brian.howard@ky.gov​; (502) 782-9438